top of page

Autobiography

Hello, I am Christa, a lover of sarcasm and just a splash of sass. Welcome to my autobiography. *two giant doors begin to open as a bright light begins to peak through* You’ll often find me dancing some wacky dance move or humming a tune that got stuck in my head whenever I’m having a good day. There will appear to be an extra pep in my step and can miraculously grow a couple inches whenever I’m feeling extra confident. #### But wait!!! There seems to be a monster that has come to prevent my good mood, is that… Anxiety? “Phee phi pho phum, I have come to prevent Christa’s good mood!” Oh no, I’m starting to shrink and it’s getting harder to speak, why can’t I just say something? 


Seventeen years and 9 months ago, a baby girl was born with dark curly hair (that’s me!). She was loved by her family and was best friends with her older brother. When she began school she always tried to do her best, doing above and beyond whatever her teacher asked of her. This continued on through middle school and eventually she reached high school where things began to not be quite so simple. 


Homework started to become a regular part of her school regime and not just a worksheet or two, more like entire chapters and work packets that took about four hours to complete for each class. So trying to go above and beyond was a little unrealistic. Hence, she struggled for a while trying to cut back this habit, that she had her entire school career, but it never truly went away. *wink* This overrun and overachieving girl was in over her head and as a result did not get the grades she desired. But as she continued to push through this difficult time, she began to figure out that what she was learning was more important than the grade she was getting in class.


Which brings me here, the girl in this overarching story, writing this paper for my AP Environmental Science class on the second day of school. Environmental Science is a subject I don’t know much about and out of all the science classes at Centennial, it seemed like the most versatile and beneficial class for a person like me who is not planning to go into the science field. It also helps that this class comes with a lot of field trips. But, what I’m really excited about is that this class will feed my curiosity about the impact we have on the environment.


Needless to say, I love NATURE!!! And what is my favorite place you may ask? The beach, specifically, Cannon Beach. Every year, my family spends Memorial Day weekend together at Cannon Beach to attend a Christian Conference and bond as a family. There’s nothing quite like the ocean mist dancing on my rosy cheeks while on a morning stroll along the sand with the sound of seagulls on the nearby shore. No more anxiety or overthinking, just the crashing of the waves and an immense sense of peace.


Anxiety is one tough monster, but it can be defeated and not just by nature. You, you are the key to slaying this monster. All you have to do is talk to me and keep trying to get to know me, eventually the monster will begin to shrink and I will become taller once again.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page